Dream Interpretation as a Psychotherapeutic Technique

Dream Interpretation as a Psychotherapeutic Technique

This inspiring new book covers the practical side of dream interpretation during the therapeutic consultation. It aids the understanding of sleep and dreams in a scientific context and provides and introduction to the biological and evolutionary foundations of sleep, dreams and dream interpretation, supporting its use in professional counselling. "Dream Interpretation as a Psychotherapeutic Technique" covers cultural, historical and religious foundations of dreams and dream interpretation, and gives an overview of the various dream interpretation theories. Psychotherapists and psychiatrists with an interest in dream interpretation will find this guide invaluable. It will also be of great interest to psychologists, counsellors, therapists and general readers. 'Excellent and very accessible, helpful, useful and flexible. I would recommend this book to any student or beginning therapist interested in working with dreams.' - Ernest Hartmann, in the Foreword. 'This is an essential book on sleep, dreams, and dream interpretation. It will reawaken dream interpretation in clinical practice as a pragmatic tool for client self-awareness.' - T Gayle Yamazki. 'A life-long student of dreams brings decades of research and practice to bear in this scholarly and fascinating work. Coolidge reveals ancient writings, the influence of human evolution on our dream life, and the latest scientific insights. In the tradition of Freud, Jung, and Perls, he uses disarming personal examples, as well as those of his subjects to teach principles of dream interpretation. The practical steps he has developed quickly enrich the therapy process.' - Michael Galvin.


Author
Publisher CRC Press
Release Date
ISBN 1138030600
Pages 176 pages
Rating 4/5 (02 users)

More Books:

Dream Interpretation as a Psychotherapeutic Technique
Language: en
Pages: 176
Authors: Frederick L. Coolidge
Categories: Medical
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-05-08 - Publisher: CRC Press

This inspiring new book covers the practical side of dream interpretation during the therapeutic consultation. It aids the understanding of sleep and dreams in
Dream Analysis 1
Language: en
Pages: 342
Authors: C.G. Jung
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-10-28 - Publisher: Routledge

Provides clarification of Jung's method of dream analysis. Based upon a previously unpublished series of dreams of one of Jung's patients.
Dream Analysis, Volume I
Language: en
Pages: 784
Authors: William McGuire
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-05-11 - Publisher: Princeton University Press

While the basis of these seminars is a series of 30 dreams of a male patient of Jung's, the commentary ranges associatively over a broad expanse of Jung's learn
The Key to Dream Analysis
Language: en
Pages: 234
Authors: Ray Douglas
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 2009-07 - Publisher: Dreamstairway Books

This book presents the subject of dream analysis from a previously unknown perspective: from the point of view of the inner feelings, also known as the higher e
New Directions in Dream Interpretation
Language: en
Pages: 308
Authors: Gayle M. V. Delaney
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 1993-09-21 - Publisher: SUNY Press

This book presents in detail seven contemporary approaches to dream interpretation as they are actually practiced by highly skilled and experienced psychiatrist
Jungian Dream Interpretation
Language: en
Pages: 127
Authors: James Albert Hall
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 1983 - Publisher: Inner City Books

Comprehensive guide to an understanding of dreams in light of the basic principles of analytical psychology. Particular attention to common motifs, the role of
Dream Psychology. Psychoanalysis for Beginners
Language: en
Pages: 129
Authors: Freud Sigmund
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-12-02 - Publisher: "Издательство ""Проспект"""

The medical profession is justly conservative. Human life should not be considered as the proper material for wild experiments. Conservatism, however, is too of
Freud's Dream of Interpretation
Language: en
Pages: 159
Authors: Ken Frieden
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-02-01 - Publisher: SUNY Press

Frieden explores methods of dream interpretation in the Bible, the Talmud, and in the writings of Sigmund Freud, and brings to light Freud’s troubled relations
A Midsummer Night's Dream: Shakespeare's Syzygy of Meaning
Language: en
Pages:
Authors:
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher: Dorrance Publishing

A General Introduction to Psychoanalysis & Dream Psychology (Psychoanalysis for Beginners)
Language: en
Pages: 160
Authors: Sigmund Freud
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-07-06 - Publisher: e-artnow

Introduction to Psychoanalysis is a set of lectures given by Sigmund Freud 1915-17, which became the most popular and widely translated of his works. The 28 lec