Dream Interpretation as a Psychotherapeutic Technique

Dream Interpretation as a Psychotherapeutic Technique

This inspiring new book covers the practical side of dream interpretation during the therapeutic consultation. It aids the understanding of sleep and dreams in a scientific context and provides and introduction to the biological and evolutionary foundations of sleep, dreams and dream interpretation, supporting its use in professional counselling. "Dream Interpretation as a Psychotherapeutic Technique" covers cultural, historical and religious foundations of dreams and dream interpretation, and gives an overview of the various dream interpretation theories. Psychotherapists and psychiatrists with an interest in dream interpretation will find this guide invaluable. It will also be of great interest to psychologists, counsellors, therapists and general readers. 'Excellent and very accessible, helpful, useful and flexible. I would recommend this book to any student or beginning therapist interested in working with dreams.' - Ernest Hartmann, in the Foreword. 'This is an essential book on sleep, dreams, and dream interpretation. It will reawaken dream interpretation in clinical practice as a pragmatic tool for client self-awareness.' - T Gayle Yamazki. 'A life-long student of dreams brings decades of research and practice to bear in this scholarly and fascinating work. Coolidge reveals ancient writings, the influence of human evolution on our dream life, and the latest scientific insights. In the tradition of Freud, Jung, and Perls, he uses disarming personal examples, as well as those of his subjects to teach principles of dream interpretation. The practical steps he has developed quickly enrich the therapy process.' - Michael Galvin.


Author
Publisher CRC Press
Release Date
ISBN 1138030600
Pages 150 pages
Rating 4/5 (02 users)

More Books:

Dream Interpretation as a Psychotherapeutic Technique
Language: en
Pages: 150
Authors: Frederick L. Coolidge
Categories: Medical
Type: BOOK - Published: 2018-05-08 - Publisher: CRC Press

This inspiring new book covers the practical side of dream interpretation during the therapeutic consultation. It aids the understanding of sleep and dreams in
Dream Analysis 1
Language: en
Pages: 342
Authors: C.G. Jung
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-10-28 - Publisher: Routledge

Provides clarification of Jung's method of dream analysis. Based upon a previously unpublished series of dreams of one of Jung's patients.
Jungian Dream Interpretation
Language: en
Pages: 132
Authors: James Albert Hall
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 1983 - Publisher: Inner City Books

Comprehensive guide to an understanding of dreams in light of the basic principles of analytical psychology. Particular attention to common motifs, the role of
New Directions in Dream Interpretation
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Gayle M. V. Delaney
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 1993-09-21 - Publisher: SUNY Press

This book presents in detail seven contemporary approaches to dream interpretation as they are actually practiced by highly skilled and experienced psychiatrist
A General Introduction to Psychoanalysis & Dream Psychology (Psychoanalysis for Beginners)
Language: en
Pages: 160
Authors: Sigmund Freud
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-07-06 - Publisher: e-artnow

Introduction to Psychoanalysis is a set of lectures given by Sigmund Freud 1915-17, which became the most popular and widely translated of his works. The 28 lec
Psychological & Biological Foundations Of Dream-Interpretation
Language: en
Pages: 276
Authors: Lowy, Samuel
Categories: Medical
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-11-05 - Publisher: Routledge

This is Volume XX of thirty-eight in the General Psychology series. First published in 1942 by the author, one of the younger neuropsychiatrists working in Czec
The Young Adult's Guide to Dream Interpretation
Language: en
Pages: 282
Authors: K. O. Morgan
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-03-25 - Publisher: Atlantic Publishing Company

Explains the importance of dreams, and provides insight into how to interpret them.
A Midsummer Night's Dream: Shakespeare's Syzygy of Meaning
Language: en
Pages:
Authors:
Categories:
Type: BOOK - Published: - Publisher: Dorrance Publishing

Freud's Dream of Interpretation
Language: en
Pages: 173
Authors: Ken Frieden
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-02-01 - Publisher: State University of New York Press

Frieden explores methods of dream interpretation in the Bible, the Talmud, and in the writings of Sigmund Freud, and brings to light Freud’s troubled relatio
An introduction to dream interpretation
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Javier Castillo Colomer
Categories: Psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-03-17 - Publisher: Editorial Manuscritos

The long personal and professional experience of Dr. Javier Castillo allows him to finally come to the conclusion, in line with the Jungian idea, that dreams ar